Trash Collection

New Garbage Truck

New Trash Routes Go Into Effect October 4, 2021

To find your regular trash service day BEGINNING October 4, 2021, use this interactive map.

To find your regular trash service day PRIOR to October 4, 2021, use this interactive map.

(You may enter your address into the search bar on the interactive maps to help locate your residence.)

Trash service days for some residents may not change.  Please look for the sticker on your trash can (example pictured below) during the week of September 27, 2021, to learn what your trash day will be beginning the week of October 4, 2021.

Trsah Sticker Example

Altered holiday trash schedules are listed below.  To receive notices of altered holiday trash schedules, Sign Up for City Alerts.

Recycling service days will not be impacted by this change.  To find your recycling service day, use this map (PDF).


Services

Submit an Online Request or Concern

Sign up for City Alerts to be notified of changes to trash service days.

The following trash collection services are provided by the Public Works / Street Department to City of Warsaw residents:

  • Appliance Disposal
  • Residential Trash Pick-Up
  • Trash Containers


Trash Time & Container Regulations

Garbage and trash must be placed curbside no later than 7:00 a.m. on the designated trash day.

Garbage and trash must be put in proper containers before the City Sanitation Department will pick them up. Trash must be placed in the 64 or 96-gallon trash tote that is provided by the City of Warsaw. Garbage must be in plastic bags, not loose in the container. (Ordinance No. 98-3-5) 


Service Requirements 

Ordinance Number 98-3-5 places the following restrictions on residential trash pick-up services:

ServiceContainerLocationAccepted ItemsRestrictions
Large items and appliancesNoneAt Curb 
  • Appliances
  • Furniture
  • Hot water heaters
  • Mattresses
  • Appliances containing Freon must have Freon removed by a qualified technician and have an attached tag stating that it has been removed
  • Doors and compressors must be removed and placed beside the appliance
  • No building materials, auto parts, tires, and whole carpets
  • No televisions and microwaves due to mercury content
  • Will not pick up trash after someone has moved out
Trash64 or 96-gallon tote provided by CityAt Curb
  • Household wastes
  • Kitchen wastes
  • Trash must be in plastic bags and placed in container by 7:00 a.m.


2021 Altered Holiday Trash Schedule

Holiday Date Pick-Up Date
Veterans Day Thursday, November 11, 2021 Friday, November 12, 2021
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 25, 2021 Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 26, 2021 Monday, November 29, 2021
Christmas Eve Friday, December 24, 2021 Thursday, December 23, 2021
Christmas Day (Observed) Monday, December 27, 2021 Tuesday, December 28, 2021
2022 New Year's Day (Observed) Friday, December 31, 2021 Thursday, December 30, 2021

2022 Altered Holiday Trash Schedule

Holiday Date Pick-Up Date
2022 New Year's Day (Observed) Friday, December 31, 2021 Thursday, December 30, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 17, 2022 Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Presidents Day Monday, February 21, 2022 Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Good Friday Friday, April 15, 2022 Thursday, April 14, 2022
Memorial Day Monday, May 30, 2022 Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Independence Day Monday, July 4, 2022 Tuesday, July 5, 2022
Labor Day Monday, September 5, 2022 Tuesday, September 6, 2022
Veterans Day Friday, November 11, 2022 Thursday, November 10, 2022
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24, 2022 Wednesday, November 23, 2022
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 25, 2022 Monday, November 28, 2022
Christmas Eve (Observed) Monday, December 26, 2022 Friday, December 23, 2022
Christmas Day (Observed) Tuesday, December 27, 2022 Wednesday, December 28, 2022

City offices will be closed to observe the holidays above. Only routes on the observed holiday's date are affected. All other days remain the same. Recycling follows the same routes as trash pick-up.  Recycling also observes the same holidays as the City but has a different holiday pick-up schedule (PDF). (Borden Waste-Away collects recyclables on Mondays and Wednesdays, except during holiday schedules.) For recycling pick-up questions, please call Borden Waste-Away at (800) 386-3313 or visit the Recycling page. For trash pick-up questions, call the City of Warsaw Public Works Department at (574) 372-9561.


Additional Items

The City is not set up to properly dispose of refuse over and beyond normal household trash. Examples of items that can not be accepted and will need to be disposed of by the property owner include:

  • Clean-outs
  • Construction / remodeling / demolition debris
  • Contractor-generated material
  • Excess trash from a resident moving in or out


Appliances

Appliances that contain Freon will be picked up by the Street Department. However, the Freon must first be removed by a Certified ServiceTechnician and a state approved certification tag (obtained by a Certified Technician) must be attached to the unit, stating Freon has been removed. In addition, please remove any doors or compressors, and place beside the appliance.

Televisions and microwaves are now considered hazardous waste due to their mercury content, and are no longer accepted at the landfill.