Click to Home
Go To Search
HomePrintEmailRSS
FacebookTwitter
ealertsOff.jpg
Trash Collection
Services
The following trash collection services are provided by the Public Works / Street Department to City of Warsaw residents:
  • Appliance Disposal
  • Residential Trash Pick-Up
  • Trash Containers


Trash Container Regulations
Garbage and trash must be put in proper containers before the City Sanitation Department will pick them up. Trash must be placed in the 64 or 96-gallon trash tote that is provided by the City of Warsaw.  Garbage must be in plastic bags, not loose in the container. (Ordinance No. 98-3-5)





Service Requirements
Ordinance Number 98-3-5 places the following restrictions on residential trash pick-up services:
 

Service

Container

Location

Accepted Items

Restrictions

Large items  and appliances None At Curb 


  • Appliances
  • Furniture
  • Hot water heaters
  • Mattresses
  • Appliances containing Freon must have Freon removed by a qualified technician and have an attached tag stating that it has been removed
  • Doors and compressors must be removed and placed beside the appliance
  • No building materials, auto parts, tires, and whole carpets
  • No televisions and microwaves due to mercury content
  • Will not pick up trash after someone has moved out
Trash 64 or 96-gallon tote provided by City At Curb
  • Household wastes
  • Kitchen wastes
  • Trash must be in plastic bags and placed in container by 7:00 a.m.



2017 Altered Trash & Recycling Schedule

Holiday

Date

Pick-Up Date

New Year's Day Monday, January 2, 2017 Tuesday, January 3, 2017
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 16, 2017 Tuesday, January 17, 2017
Presidents' Day Monday, February 20, 2017 Tuesday, February 21, 2017
Good Friday Friday, April 14, 2017 Thursday, April 13, 2017
Memorial Day Monday, May 29, 2017 Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Independence Day Tuesday, July 4, 2017 Wednesday, July 5, 2017
Labor Day Monday, September 4, 2017 Tuesday, September 5, 2017
Veteran's Day Friday, November 10, 2017 Thursday, November 9, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 23, 2017 Wednesday, November 22, 2017
Day after Thanksgiving Friday, November 24, 2017 Monday, November 27, 2017
Christmas Eve Monday, December 25, 2017 Friday, December 22, 2017
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 26, 2017 Wednesday, December 27, 2017

City offices will be closed to observe the holidays above. Only routes on the observed holiday's date are affected. All other days remain the same. Recycling observes the same holidays and follows the same routes as trash pick-up.  (Borden Waste-Away collects recyclables on Mondays and Wednesdays.)  For recycling pick-up questions, please call Borden Waste-Away at 800-386-3313.  For trash pick-up questions, call the City of Warsaw Public Works Department at (574) 372-9561.


Additional Items
The city is not set up to properly dispose of refuse over and beyond normal household trash. Examples of items that can not be accepted and will need to be disposed of by the property owner include:
  • Clean-outs
  • Construction / remodeling / demolition debris
  • Contractor-generated material
  • Excess trash from a resident moving in or out







Appliances
Appliances that contain Freon will be picked up by the Street Department. However, the Freon must first be removed by a Certified Service Technician and a state approved certification tag (obtained by a Certified Technician) must be attached to the unit, stating Freon has been removed. In addition, please remove any doors or compressors, and place beside the appliance.

Televisions and microwaves are now considered hazardous waste due to their mercury content, and are no longer accepted at the landfill.


City Hall  |  102 S. Buffalo Street  |  Warsaw, IN 46580
Privacy Policy  |  Terms & Conditions  |  Accessibility  |  Copyright Notice  |  Using Renewable Energy  |  Powered by CivicPlus