Trash Collection

New Garbage Truck

Services

Submit an Online Request or Concern

The following trash collection services are provided by the Public Works / Street Department to City of Warsaw residents:

  • Appliance Disposal
  • Residential Trash Pick-Up
  • Trash Containers


Trash Container Regulations

Garbage and trash must be put in proper containers before the City Sanitation Department will pick them up. Trash must be placed in the 64 or 96-gallon trash tote that is provided by the City of Warsaw. Garbage must be in plastic bags, not loose in the container. (Ordinance No. 98-3-5) 


Service Requirements 

Ordinance Number 98-3-5 places the following restrictions on residential trash pick-up services:

ServiceContainerLocationAccepted ItemsRestrictions
Large items and appliancesNoneAt Curb 
  • Appliances
  • Furniture
  • Hot water heaters
  • Mattresses
  • Appliances containing Freon must have Freon removed by a qualified technician and have an attached tag stating that it has been removed
  • Doors and compressors must be removed and placed beside the appliance
  • No building materials, auto parts, tires, and whole carpets
  • No televisions and microwaves due to mercury content
  • Will not pick up trash after someone has moved out
Trash64 or 96-gallon tote provided by CityAt Curb
  • Household wastes
  • Kitchen wastes
  • Trash must be in plastic bags and placed in container by 7:00 a.m.


2018 Altered Trash Schedule

Holiday Date Pick-Up Date
New Year's Day Monday, January 1 Tuesday, January 2
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 15 Tuesday, January 16
President's Day Monday, February 19 Tuesday, February 20
Good Friday Friday, March 30 Thursday, March 29
Memorial Day Monday, May 28 Tuesday, May 29
Independence Day Wednesday, July 4 Thursday, July 5
Labor Day Monday, September 3 Tuesday, September 4
Veteran's Day (Observed) Monday, November 12 Tuesday, November 13
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 22 Wednesday, November 21
Day After Thanksgiving Friday, November 23 Monday, November 26
Christmas Eve Monday, December 24 Friday, December 21
Christmas Day Tuesday, December 25 Wednesday, December 26

City offices will be closed to observe the holidays above. Only routes on the observed holiday's date are affected. All other days remain the same. Recycling follows the same routes as trash pick-up.  Recycling also observes the same holidays as the City but has a different holiday pick-up schedule. (Borden Waste-Away collects recyclables on Mondays and Wednesdays, except during holiday schedules.) For recycling pick-up questions, please call Borden Waste-Away at (800) 386-3313 or visit the Recycling page. For trash pick-up questions, call the City of Warsaw Public Works Department at (574) 372-9561.


Additional Items

The City is not set up to properly dispose of refuse over and beyond normal household trash. Examples of items that can not be accepted and will need to be disposed of by the property owner include:

  • Clean-outs
  • Construction / remodeling / demolition debris
  • Contractor-generated material
  • Excess trash from a resident moving in or out


Appliances

Appliances that contain Freon will be picked up by the Street Department. However, the Freon must first be removed by a Certified ServiceTechnician and a state approved certification tag (obtained by a Certified Technician) must be attached to the unit, stating Freon has been removed. In addition, please remove any doors or compressors, and place beside the appliance.

Televisions and microwaves are now considered hazardous waste due to their mercury content, and are no longer accepted at the landfill.